Weekends…

One of my favorite parts of weekends is my ability to have a fresh (not reheated) breakfast and Kevin has an actual cooked breakfast (not cereal).  Today I had veggie scrambled eggs with homemade hash browns and Kevin had pancakes with some hash browns.

image

My favorite pancake mix (GF) and then my deliciousness on the right!

I am the biggest advocate of breakfast and how it should NEVER be a meal that is skipped because I accredit my weight loss to restructuring my meals to include breakfast and a mid-morning snack.  I talk to a lot of people that do something quick and processed (and maybe full of sugar) which at least they are jump starting their day and metabolism, but I do try to make my breakfast meal as CLEAN as possible.  As stated before, I check sugar in everything and being conscious of this has really helped my skin, mood, and weight.  I was looking at Yahoo and this article came up: Breakfast Foods to aid in weight loss.

My weekday breakfasts are either a veggie and egg scramble with tomatoes on the side, yogurt with a fruit, or an apple with PB (or Justin’s almond butter which is an obsession of mine).  So I stick to 3, 4, and 5 with very little 2 and rarely 1. I try to incorporate oatmeal into bars/smoothies/etc every so often because unfortunately I hate oatmeal unless its mixed into things.  If you like oatmeal (without the added sugar though!), you are really on a good track too.

Some recipes that I have that could help you on your POSSIBLY new breakfast journey: Oatmeal Cookie SmoothieBanana Oatmeal Cookies (add in dark chocolate or some nuts), Egg White Muffins (any variety of veggies or seasoning), and PB Blueberry Breakfast Bars.

After breakfast, I threw ingredients in for a pot roast and I am also going to make Rosemary Garlic chicken with red potatoes and fresh green beans.  I am unsure if we will have any company today but one thing is for sure, there will be enough food 🙂  I will report on the taste and recipes tomorrow, after they’ve made it into our bellies of course!

Enjoy your Saturday & watch your step and don’t bust your ass like  I did this morning…(I’m fine, lots of laughs about it)

 

One Response to “Weekends…”

  1. Samantha Says:

    Just wanted to say, I’m really enjoying reading your posts. Makes me smile and love trying out the recipes! Miss seeing you! Glad to see you’re doing so well!

Leave a Reply

